Fan Reviews

K-PAXweb1

 K-PAX by Cynthia

The film is permeated by an odd “other worldly” feeling which is skillfully conveyed. The music is strange, repetitive and the odd “plinking” sound could represent the movement of the planets. Even the list of credits appears in melting “globules” and there are eerie views and odd camera angles when photographing streets or the astronomy labs. The oddest thing of all of course is Prot himself. His first appearance on the station concourse is sudden rather like the advent of a god or saviour. Kevin Spacey, as may be imagined with his history of playing oddballs and getting totally submerged in his parts, completely becomes Prot and adds many subtle and weird touches to the character. At times he  seems to move about quite normally and at  others has a strange mechanical jerkiness in his movements. He has a way of peering round the side of a door which is definitely sinister, and at one point walks away on the top of a wall instead of using the more normal route along a path. It’s interesting to see how adaptable Kevin is. He has played so many “hard” extrovert men yet he can really get under the skin of this gentle rather passive character. I found him totally adorable and really wanted to give him a cuddle and make him feel at home! I never expected to see anyone look really good up a tree but Kevin does – he looks so much at home cradled in those branches and absolutely dishy and vulnerable as well!!

So what is this film all about. Well, I haven’t read the book(s), so I’ll have to confine myself to the film but here are a few ideas. There is an emphasis in the film on two sides of society – the conventional people and the misfits. Prot is obviously in the misfit category because he is apparently an alien. The people of different nationalities – Negroes, Japanese, Chinese – whom we see hurrying along the station concourse at the beginning are probably in some sense aliens as well. The fact that the Negro lady is mugged at the start of the film suggests the violence of this society and the vulnerability of certain people. The mental patients are also of course outsiders unable to cope with “normal” life . So-called “normal” society is apparently represented by Mark, the doctor, who is living a very conventional upper middle class life style with the usual submissive wife complaining about the hours he spends at work, and the correct number of children. By the look of his house he has made quite a lot of money out of being a psychiatrist. But apart from the sessions with Prot we don’t see much therapy being successfully done with the other patients. They are herded together in a room where they are each living in their own world..They see the doctor occasionally and have nurse guards who restrain them if they do anything unexpected. We can speculate that they may have been reduced to this state by the competitive, conventional and materialistic society that Mark represents. The man who is convinced he’ll become infected by diseases that are all around seems to sumbolise this. When Mark’s family agree to Prot coming to their barbecue, their initial jokey remarks about him and their suspicion suggests they don’t usually invite people round who are outside their social set even if they aren’t aliens! Prot’s “treatment” of the patients does not seem to have any more real success than the psychiatrist’s but he is  more humane and does make them “come out of themselves” a little. I found it very disturbing watching Mark’s “experiments” with Prot because of the possible physical damage it could do to him. Kevin so powerfully and subtly showed Prot’s distress and vulnerability that I was completely absorbed by it and it suggested that Mark was more interested in Prot as something to experiment on rather than as a living being. This idea is continued when Mark obsessively pursues clues as to who Prot really is. It seems the whole thing has become a detective story for him rather than an attempt to empathise with a person. He does get together with his son again at the end but I felt this was rather “added on”.

Is Prot really an alien? Well, he certainly appears to drift into people’s lives for a purpose – helping the mental hospital patients and even getting Mark to meet his son again, and how could he know all those scientific facts about astronomy if he was just a human being?

Like most of Kevin’s films, “K-Pax” improved when viewed a second time and all sorts of subtleties became apparent. I was particularly struck by the scene where Prot is taken in a large car at night to look round what seems to be a sinister and seedy area of garish neon lights. It is as if it would not be safe to walk there, again stressing a “sick society”. Prot is gazing out of the window, entranced by a balloon that floats up into the blackness. Wonderful imagery. An intriguing film.

Cynthia, Manchester , UK

~

K-PAX by raven

OMG it is one of the best movies ive ever seen i have 15 of Kevins Movies June 30, 2005

~

K-PAX by  João

This movie in spite of some gaps(in my oppinion) in the logic process of the story it shows some intresting point of views about life,mortality and trust,mostly because people don’t trust each other word and sometimes meaningful things are said but aren’t heard.This movie chalenges life and makes a big interrogation point in the objective of the humanlife.Kevin is the most important part of the puzzle in this movie giving life to a character that few could.Is he an alien in a human body or just another lunatic in a mad world?I think most importantly is people ask themselves how can an “anomaly” be the “perfect” stereotype of humans;caring,understanding,inteligent,with the right convictions?!

~

K-PAX by spaceyfan

Because I am a spaceyfan does not necessarily mean I give two thumbs up for all of his movies.  No doubt, Kevin is a wonderful actor. In fact, it is *him* that makes these movies watchable.  If someone else had portrayed Prot, I think I would have fallen asleep.  Yes, Jeff Bridges is an effective hypnotist, and I would have gone under.  Anyway, there are a lot of holes in the movie.  Where did Bess go?  Where did Prot go during those 3 days he disappeared fromt he ward?  It is my guess that director Softley wanted to leave much of it up to the imagination of the viewer.  So be it, then Prot must be lurking at some fruit stand right now as I write this.  Much of the movies seems contrived, especially the ending.

~

K-pax by milkjug

This film is fantastic! I don’t know why, but K-pax is truly touched me! Kevin Spacey is an incredibly talented actor! He proved it again in this movie.

~

K-PAX by LL

Awesome movie – but also a possibility and phenomenon that really exists!! Spirits or ETs come and enbody humans a lot. Some people call some of them walk-ins. I cried watching him leave and it was amazing that olny “sick” – I call them psychic and sensitive – people saw it!! Awesome acting to true stories that mainstream people are unaware of…

~

K-PAX by Donna

The scene near the end of the film when Kevin is in the wheelchair and he lets a  slight smile enter his eyes; that was Prot saying I’m still here watching over Robert. Kevin shares the secret with the audience but not with Jeff. I liked how Kevin played that scene. I thought Jeff and Kevin were excellent in the film together. Jeff’s mirroring of Kevin’s pain couldn’t have been more perfect and I was crying right alongside both of them in those scenes. I hope they do another project together.  Goodness, Kevin has created so many unforgettable characters that you could never decide on just one favorite. It’s so enjoyable to have such a variety of characters to watch depending on your mood.  Verbal, Prot, Quoyle, John Doe, Casey, Lloyd, etc.  It’s an endless list.  I hope one day to see Mr. Spacey on stage. The first time I saw Laurence Olivier’s film “Richard III” I was eleven, and I remember how stunned I felt while watching the movie because I’d never heard such beautiful words and the film visually was stunning.  Wow! What a glorious way to be introduced to Shakespeare. It simply took my breath away and Laurence Olivier has always been one of my top 3 favorite actors of all time and Kevin is now my favorite of all of them. When I watch Kevin’s performances I have the same feeling I did the first time I saw Olivier in Richard III and experience that thrill of knowing I’m watching breathtaking magic taking place. I hope to never lose that feeling of awe when I watch Kevin’s work. Donna (Pizzazy4ks)

~

K-PAX  by Ginger

K-pax is an extradonairly good movie, Kevin (that cutie) did so well in it, it was amazing!! I think he really was from K-PAX and he came and he left. He was so good. He looked adorable with that bald spot!! <GRIN> I hope they make the sequel “On a Beam of Light” a movie, when Prot comes back!

~

K-PAX  by Dede

I watched K-Pax last night and, as always, am enthralled by the talent of Kevin Spacey.  What a wonderful actor!  And I truly enjoyed the movie and will look forward to reading the book.  Whether he is Prot or Robert, either or neither, the movie provides a lot of fodder for thought and conversation.   But the amazing thing about a movie like this, as soooo many others, when I read the reviews by the “critics” I once again realize that they are the ones from another planet, and C movies are usually my very favorite.  🙂  I am trying to remember how many of “their” rated “A” movies I have ever cared to watch again.

~

K-PAX   fan review by Ella K-PAX was a pretty good movie.  Not a great movie, but a pretty good one.  Kevin Spacey should’ve grinned more often (it’s prot’s trademark in the book).  He should’ve cried harder at the last hypnosis session.  Jeff Bridges was good.  I couldn’t have cared less for the actress playing his wife.  The African-American actress playing the chief of the psychiatric hospital (or whatever she was supposed to be) gave a much better performance than that other actress I was just talking about. Kevin Spacey is a great actor.  He still has a lot to learn, but he’s definitely one of the best actors out there (at the moment).  I wish he could cry more easily.  And I can’t wait to see THE SHIPPING NEWS. Oh, one more thing… Not to be cruel or anything, but at the 1999 (or was it 2000?) Academy Awards, DENZEL WASHINGTON SHOULD’VE WON THE OSCAR FOR BEST ACTOR FOR HIS **INCREDIBLY AMAZING AND BEAUTIFUL** PERFORMANCE IN ~*~*~THE HURRICANE~*~*~ (instead of Kevin for American Beauty).  Have you *SEEN* The Hurricane?!!! Come on!

May 12, 2002

~

K-PAX  by Jaye

“Is prot, really from the planet K-PAX? Or is he just simply bonkers? The Truth is Out There!” (to borrow a phrase from The X-Files.) K-PAX is quintessentially a character driven feature that’s low on action but high on good storytelling, thrown in with a bit of sci-fi, comedy and drama. A very nice package indeed. The acting is superb with some very touching moments between Kevin and Jeff “the Dude” Bridges. The film thankfully, avoids over sentimentally along with pigeonholing its main and supporting characters. It’s nice that dir. Iain Softley and scriptwriter Charles Leavitt have remained quite faithful to the Gene Brewer’s excellent book. Although, certain characters were changed or missing, but anyway the film is great as it is! No contest!!! On the technical side, the cinematography by John Mathieson (who also did Gladiator) is sooo beautiful. I love the shot of prot behind the tinted car window at the beginning of the picnic scene to name but a few. K-PAX is such a pleasurable film to indulge in for 2hours – it definitely left me with a glowing fuzzy feeling inside. “So is prot really an alien from a distant planet?” Go and see K-PAX and decide for yourself. A Starry 5/5

April 14, 2002

~

K-PAX  by Jo Moore I have always had a great respect for Kevin Spacey’s work, he is brilliant, very smooth, sophisticated and what I find to be quite curious. He comes across as someone who is reluctant to reveal much of himself, which I can relate to, yet he puts so much life and feeling into his characters. If I ever had the chance to meet him I would have so many questions. Anyway, I digress. His part as Prot in “K – Pax” was no exception to the brilliant line of parts he has played. I know it is ‘only a movie’ but I believed Prot when he said he was from another planet, he was very convincing, and definitely no psychiatric patient. All kidding aside, great movie, and congratulations Mr. Spacey on another brilliant job. *****

March 2, 2002

~

K-PAX  by Margie Wow.  What an excellent actor Kevin is (as if I didn’t already know!!!!!!).  K-PAX was amazing..I saw it twice and I am counting the days until it comes out on video.  I loved it!!!  The funny brilliance, the great plot, and KEVIN WAS SOOOOO GOOD!!!  He brought life to prot’s character (get the pun??) and was HOT while doing it.  I loved the other actors (well..i guess I did..I was mostly staring at Kevin…) and everyone was great in their roles..but Kev stole the show.  I think he should have been nominated for this..but sadly, he has not yet.  Anyway..I loved the movie, everything except..well..i’m not a big fan of Kevin’s bald spot…but in the total scope of things I couldn’t care less!  One last thing..(don’t read this if you haven’t seen the movie)..my personal opinion is that prot was really from K-PAX and came to help Robert when he needed it…but that’s what I thought..you’ll have to see it for yourself!  A proud 9.75/10  (the -.25 was for the baldspot, it reminds me that Kev is almost 43 :^( Now..if you’ll excuse me, I have a beam of light to catch!!  February 7, 2002 ~

K-PAX by I_Go_Alone

***SPOILERS***warning*** First off, let me just say that if Kevin Spacey glared at a camera for two hours, chewing bubble gum, I would spend good money to go see it (uh-huh…I see some of you nodding in agreement.)  So, I certainly cannot call a review that I make of any Spacey movie unbiased.  I LOVED IT.  I will see it again.  I will rent it.  I will buy it when I get a DVD player.  I will make my friends watch it, just so that I can discuss it with them.  (See what I mean?) Kevin’s performance was captivating, as usual.  I believed he was Prot.  Later, I believed he was Robert Porter.  By the end, I thought he was Prot again.  Mesmerizing.  And he looked great–all rumpled and scruffy, usually with hint of a smile on his lips. Yum. I’ve never been a big Jeff Bridges fan, and this movie did nothing to change that.  Maybe I need to rent Starman sometime to see him in the opposite role.  There were some elements of the story that I felt were a bit contrived.  I don’t think cops in Grand Central really care about the non-violent crazies when they have enough violent ones to deal with.  I didn’t buy that he would have been arrested.  I think the writers could have thought up a more believable scenario.  Also, Dr. Powell’s friend just so happens to be a professional astronomer?  C’mon.  Like there are *so many* of them.  But I guess it was needed. I loved the colors in the movie, although I thought that they were highly unrealistic in a psychiatric hospital.  The party scene was just beautiful, but again, not very realistic (mylar balloons and streamers and blow up rocket ships?  It’s the Disney version of a psyche ward.) I liked the music.  The use of light was great.  I always enjoy performances by Conchata Ferrell, and I was pleasantly surprised to see her in this.  But it all comes back to Spacey.  He made the film.  Unfortunately, I don’t see an Oscar out of this; the movie is just not an Oscar vehicle.  I think that will have to wait for The Shipping News.  The trailer for The Shipping News was shown before K-PAX, by the way, and it looks incredible.  I was just all a-flutter.  Can’t wait. My favorite K-PAX scene:  When Bess calls Prot the “bluebird.”  I think he picked her right then. Did anyone else find it funny when the kids were in the yard all yelling “Spaceman, Spaceman!”  I thought…okay, that would be me if I saw KS on the street.  Haha.

November 8, 2001 ~

K-PAX by Lesa

November 4, 2001

I was pleased with the movie.  I feel it stayed fairly true to the book.  After seeing the previews of K-PAX I was a little skeptical.  All the previews that I had seen showed prot a little more animated than I felt he appeared in the book.  Once the movie started I realized I had nothing to worry about.  I think Kevin Spacey did a fine job of portraying prot and Jeff Bridges was right on the money as Dr. Powell. If there was anything about the movie I didn’t like it would be the way the movie ended.  I think if prot had been found under Bess’s bed like he was in the book then it would have added to the question whether or not prot was real.  And…, as much as I like to see those little devilish smiles Kevin is so good at giving, I was disappointed to see that little hint of one on a person who was supposed to be completely catatonic.  After reading the book I found myself caught in the middle of prot’s existence being real or not real.  The movie version left me thinking that prot was just an alter ego created by Robert to escape the traumas of his life.  In reading the book one gets a better view of K-PAX.  It’s a Utopian world which is something most people wish for.  You find yourself wanting to believe K-PAX does exist because it’s nice to know that even though Utopia doesn’t exist on EARTH at least it does exist somewhere out there. All in all it was a good movie.  I’m definitely going to see it again.

~

“There’s enough life on Earth to fill fifty planets.” – Kevin Spacey

Kevin Spacey as Keyser Soze is the best villain of the 1990s alongside Anthony Hopkins as the equally Oscar-winning Hannibal Lecter. And American Beauty was beautiful thanks to Kevin Spacey.  But it is his role as Prot from K-PAX that shall win my envy for the actor looking back light years from now.  As someone who has struggled with a disorder somewhat similar to Kevin Spacey’s character’s for this part-science-fiction and part-suspense-drama film, I think K-PAX signifies life in either human or alien eyes as worth living as the character of Ernie (whose horror of dying was cured by Howie thanks to Prot) realized.  The mentally ill are people who need our help most on this planet because a human mind in pain is worse than a body in pain. Prot is the alien role Kevin Spacey was born to play and shall surely take his rightful place alongside various others from the passing millennium to this new millennium.  Whether your science-fiction or science-fiction-like epic has any comparisons between Star Trek or X-Files (or its new and original contrasts with what life from elsewhere in the universe would really be like as this film has made me think twice about), I believe that you should never underestimate the potential of the human imagination which I believe is infinite.  Could an alien like Prot exist in the real universe?  Kevin Spacey has me convinced.  As unafraid as the actor is as a person in real life and as Prot obviously was, he will be remembered for sure as one of the most unique actors in Earth history.  Thank the universe for the man and his talent.  And congratulations to Bess for going to K-PAX. Michael Anthony Basil November 4, 2001 ~

Review: I recently went and saw K-PAX. I was waiting anxiously all summer ever since I heard about it to come out. In this movie you have to very Talented Actors, Kevin Spacey and Jeff Bridges.  Jeff Bridges plays a shrink beaten down by the system. The City is starting to give patients to the hospital he works at. His ever deteriorating home life starts to suffer yet again. The Man hasn’t connected with anyone in a long time. Then enters Kevin in the role of Prot. A man claiming to be from another planet by the name of K-PAX. He waltz’s his self into the institution, and he causes quite a stir. Even Mark (Jeff Bridges) Starts to wonder to himself…..could he really be from outer space? I walked away from this movie very happy and enlightened about the human condition. The movie leaves it up to you to figure out whether or not he is human or is he really from K-PAX. He shows signs of both throughout the entire film. I loved the film, surely Kevin Spacey at his best. He really out did himself this time. My hat’s off to Kevin, bravo my good man. A definite must see, young and out alike. S. Renee S.        The Writer November 4, 2001

~

K-PAX by Karen November 2, 2001

The Movie K-Pax is great! I love the way Kevin is so sensitive to people with mental health disorders.  He doesn’t say anything negative about them. I love the way Prot treats everybody with love and respect.

~

K-PAX review by ME

I was going to type up my review while I made dinner, but the bowl of Halloween candy proved to be too tempting and now I feel a little dizzy so I’ll try to get it in tomorrow. It’s gonna be a good review though. I absolutely enjoyed this movie.

~

K-PAX by  Her sister Suzanne who wishes to remain anonymous.

October 30, 2001

K-PAX redeemed Kevin Spacey in my eyes. After being forced to sit through those awful American Beauty and Pay It Forward movies, I wasn’t looking forward to this one at all, but it was a very good movie. I could sit through it again if I had to. I didn’t fall asleep once and I didn’t notice any continuity problems like I did when I dozed off during Pay It Forward and woke up to find an unusual scene involving a bag of groceries. And as a professional colorist, I would have to say that Jeff’s highlights were very well done.

~

K-PAX by Riley

October 27, 2001

I saw K-Pax this afternoon. The theater was full, which is unusual around here for the early showing. You could have heard a pin drop in that theater. There wasn’t any talking at all during the film, just complete silence as everyone was totally engrossed in the film. I found the film more enjoyable than the book, although I think having read the book made the film easier to understand. My review of this film consists of two words: SEE IT ~

K-PAX review by Mark

October 27, 2001

I saw it.  I loved it… It reminded me why I’m a KS fan. and the spot is prominent…

~

K-PAX By RachelB October 26, 2001

K-PAX is the one of the best Kevin Spacey films I’ve ever seen. His performance as Prot was extremely believable and very powerful. Jeff Bridges was excellent too as the shrink Mark Powell. The film was one of the very few films that made me laugh and cry at the same time. There were scenes in the film with Prot that made me laugh and a few that made me cry. If you’re looking for an excellent Kevin Spacey film, go see K-PAX. I give this movie two really big thumbs up.

~

K-PAX By Bonnie Kavett     Is Kevin Spacey an alien from a far away planet, or is he the victim of some horrible trauma that drove him to create a second personality? That’s the question that drives the story of K-PAX, but which leads to questions on a much grander scale, dealing with family, death and ultimately how we treat our fellow human beings.     Dr. Mark Powell (Jeff Bridges) is a doctor at the Psychiatric Institute of Manhattan who gets a new patient dumped into his care, at a time in his life when work is becoming stressful on his home life.  This patient (Kevin Spacey) goes by the name of “prot” (no capitals, rhymes with “goat”), says he is from the planet K-PAX (“1,000 light years away”), and has an insatiable appetite for fruit- peels, seeds and all.  What makes prot any different from Dr. Powell’s other patients is that he possesses abilities that no normal human being should; he can see ultraviolet light (hence he dons sunglasses for most of the film, claiming that our planet is way too bright), he has an inordinate knowledge of astronomy and planetary motions that no one could know, Bellevue has pumped him full of a massive amount of drugs that have not produced any effect at all, and he appears to be having a positive effect on the other patients in the ward.  For every question that Dr. Powell asks, thinking it would chip away at prot’s delusion, he is given an answer that only strengthens it more. When prot tells Dr. Powell that he plans to beam  back (K-PAXians use light travel, you see) to K-PAX on July 27th, the Dr. realizes that he only has a few weeks left before that time and, as he is afraid that that date will cause prot to suffer a complete breakdown, Dr. Powell must hurry and try to uncover the truth about prot before it is too late to help him.      The film is ultimately very ambiguous in its presentation of prot, as either an alien or someone deeply troubled.  As we get details that seem to lead the film in one direction, there are then facts revealed that give support to the opposing story. It is refreshing to see a film that does not simply spoon-feed the audience every morsel of information and then wrap everything up in a neat little package.  I like a film to leave me thinking, filled with wonder, pleasantly satisfied with what I have seen but still able to ponder it over and come up with my own conclusions.  If I want something cut-and-dry, with no thought required, I’d go see one of those overblown Michael Bay-type films that we have been so immersed in lately.  K-PAX is a film that requires audience participation, to take it all in and mull it over, rather than shallow mind-candy that entrances the eyes rather than the brain.  Not that K-PAX is not a beautifully shot film, as it certainly is; its repeated usage of reflected-light motifs are engaging, although they do get a bit overbearing at times.

Kevin Spacey gives a wondrous, heartfelt performance; he is highly adept at prot’s glib comments to Dr. Powell as well as several scenes of deep emotional torment and grief.  Spacey has made it possible to believe either side of the story; we see him as alien in one light, as human in another, and no matter which way you look at it, it is entirely credible.  It’s a joy to watch Spacey and Bridges react off of each other, two master thespians at what they do best. Where I felt the film was lacking, however, was in the home scenes between Dr. Powell and his wife Rachel (Mary McCormack).  I did not buy Rachel getting so angry and upset over Mark taking a vested interest in prot’s case, this is his job after all, and it’s not like it’s her small teaching job that is paying for their big sprawling Long Island home.  Her place in the story got real old, real fast.  Also, several of the other patients in the ward could have had their stories fleshed out a bit more. Having read the book the film is based on beforehand, I knew all about the various patients and their eccentricities, so everything made perfect sense to me; I felt like I had already come to know these people.  However, I would think that most people seeing the film do not even know about K-PAX the novel, and the supporting characters in the film might seem like simple caricatures of mental patients rather than real people. I could have definitely appreciated more of Maria, the multiple personality, as she pops up several times in different costumes and voices with no explanation why.  I would really recommend the book (and it’s sequel, On A Beam of Light) to those who like the film, as it delves much deeper into things and gives a lot of insight left out of the film.

October 23, 2001